To My Warrior Mother

She fights; therefore, I am!

Sofia Duarte

--

I love this photo that I’ve taken from her because the world is ours to win!

Hello Mom!

It may seem a bit strange to write to you since I see you every day, but the truth is that isn’t enough. We know our story, with the habitual adversities. You were both parents after my father died, your love for us was your fuel. We had food on our table, and you made us move forward into a better future.

Today I am the woman you made me be. I saw all the fighting you had to endure completely alone. There were so many people in our Family tree. Just your uncle helped you. Just one from several family members. Where were they when we needed them most?! The road was only ours to walk, barefoot.

Family? That’s what you built within your home. Blood does not always mean that it will help you in times of need, and I am glad that you looked straight into the bull and here we are today!

I remember when you taught me to see more than with my eyes. Every part of our life is magic. We always learn, is like a staircase, full of steps that we go up and down. Going down is not a defeat, sometimes it is the only way to check the next step and take it more thoughtfully.

One day you want to write your story, the baby that was born from your powerful mother. She is proud of you; I am certain of it! I know that you miss her since you were…

--

--

Sofia Duarte

⚀ Uma mulher afundada em letras creativas! ⚁ A woman deep within creative words!